At Kangaroo Pouch we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS), a framework which aids in the learning and development of children. We believe in the uniqueness of each child and the individuality of their learning experience. Our wonderful practitioners build positive relationships with the children in an environment with rich learning opportunities. This helps children learn and develop in different ways.


Practitioners provide playful and challenging learning opportunities across the 7 areas of learning;

·         Prime areas:

o   Personal, Social and Emotional Development  

o   Communication and Language

o   Physical Development

·         Specific areas:

o   Literacy

o   Mathematics

o   Understanding the World

o   Expressive Arts and Design

The prime areas develop quickly in response to relationships and experiences. The specific areas include essential skills and knowledge and provide important contexts fir learning. Each area is further sub-divided into aspects.

Children respond and relate to others through the Characteristics of Effective Learning, which underpin development across the 7 areas, supporting effective learning.